The Herald Bulletin

March 20, 2013

Viewpoint: Nominate favorite author; encourage Indiana’s rich literary heritage

By Danny R. Dean

— There’s nothing quite like the comfort of a good book, and Hoosiers have benefited from Indiana’s many outstanding authors over the decades — from Kurt Vonnegut to Booth Tarkington to James Whitcomb Riley. But even today, the literary landscape of Indiana remains just as dynamic and noteworthy on both local and national levels.

Many writers enter the world of books through the doors of public libraries. So it is certainly fitting that The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation once again sheds light on excellence in our midst. Ours is a state rich in literary heritage with an even brighter literary future, celebrated by the annual Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award.

Established by a generous grant from The Glick Fund and now in its fifth year, the Indiana Authors Award is currently accepting nominations. Just a few days remain to nominate your favorite author.

Indiana Authors Award-winning writers earn cash prizes ranging from $5,000 to $10,000. Plus, each of the three winning authors in the National, Regional and Emerging Author categories chooses an Indiana public library to receive a grant of $2,500 from the Library Foundation.

Since its inception in 2009, four fantastic authors with Indiana roots have been chosen as National Indiana Author Award recipients: James Alexander Thom (2009), Scott Russell Sanders (2010), Margaret McMullan (2011) and, most recently, John Green (2012). Being nominated by readers from across the state and the nation is an incredible honor. But it wouldn’t have happened without book lovers nominating those they believe represent the pinnacle of literary excellence.

Indiana’s literary future is more promising than ever. With the help of your nominations, the Library Foundation will continue to highlight talented Hoosier authors for years to come.

Please join us by nominating your favorite author today.

Nominations will be accepted through Friday, March 22.

Danny R. Dean is president of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation.