The Herald Bulletin

Morning Update

Opinion

February 15, 2014

Viewpoint: Jobs, education and renewable energy are key to Anderson's improvement

In a recent editorial, the editorial board was critical of Mayor Kevin Smith’s State of the City speech because, as the editorial suggested, it lacked vision. I would have to concur in this assessment. I really don’t like to engage in negativity, but sometimes constructive criticism can be a very effective tool in bringing forth the best in ourselves and others.

It seems that politicians serving in Anderson always want to talk about what they have done to balance the budget, maintain public safety, and how many miles of streets they have paved. These accomplishments are commendable but every politician in Anderson past and present has done those things and will continue to do those things.

What is lacking on the part of our local politicians is their ability to put themselves out there, to show us and to tell us with conviction their ideas that will in both the short term and long term improve this community. It should be easy for anyone that holds public office in this community to look around and see where we need to improve the most, and the fastest, and to formulate and share their plan of action with the citizenry.

I’m no politician. I’m just an interested citizen like many of you that wants to see Anderson start to improve in all areas, but I believe we need to begin by concentrating on three key concerns. The three areas I want to talk about are jobs and wages, education, and renewable energy. These issues are key to Anderson’s future and we need to start having conversations that lead to action on these issues. I want a future in this community that includes us attracting an impact employer. An impact employer that creates several thousand good-paying jobs in Anderson that pay wages that can support families.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Editorial: Health center problem could have been avoided The lives and reputations of three healthcare professionals have been ruined by mismanagement at the Madison County Community Health Center. It could have been avoided.

    July 22, 2014

  • Bannon, Tom Viewpoint: Paramount is an investment that is paying dividends About 25 years ago the citizens of Anderson made a decision that would have a long lasting impact on the community. Instead of saving the old Paramount Theatre, which had fallen into serious disrepair, it was decided that the easy and prudent decision was to get rid of the building to create additional downtown parking. Shortly after the Paramount came down, the community got rid of another abandoned structure when the old Carnegie Building, which was the former home of the Anderson Public Library, was torn down.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • You Said It: About the reservoir, immigration and more on the Wigwam Each Monday, The Herald Bulletin publishes “You Said It,” a compilation of readers’ comments from www.theheraldbulletin.com coupled with responses by the newspaper’s editorial board.

    July 21, 2014

  • underwood mug [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Scott Underwood: Colts camp, 4-H fair demand our attention Late July is a busy, exciting time in Madison County. With the school year approaching fast, folks want to savor the long, hot (well, not so hot lately) days of July.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Maureen Hayden: Expiring term heightens the urgency of one lawmaker’s mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki may have lost the Republican primary to a Tea Party challenger, but the two-term Republican from Kosciusko County is not going away quietly.

    July 20, 2014

  • Indiana State of State-12 [Duplicate] Editorial: State surplus comes at expense of Hoosiers' well-being If Indiana is taking in $59.8 million less – blamed on declines in revenues from the riverboat gambling tax, inheritance tax and individual income tax – and still is able to save $106.8 million, that extra cash isn’t being plucked from a secret forest of money trees.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NWS - HB0727 - horse and pony - DK - 266 Editorial: 4-H members have goals, dreams

    This week's Madison County 4-H Fair is an opportunity to showcase area youth. They're proud of their work. Their hopeful of their futures. And they're willing to put their goals and dreams in the public eye.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • NWS - HB0626 - Shoot - 03 Editorial: License suspension makes sense in Roger Shoot case Some will object when a person accused of a crime is punished by a professional organization before conviction.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter: Wall Street should not be in politics Talk about corruption, ponzi schemes, we're looking at you, Wall Street, controlling the prices of our food, gasoline and clothing we must buy and about every company in America — while trashing President Obama, the Affordable Health Care Plan, along with every Democrat, to influence our elections, at the same time.

    July 17, 2014

  • Letter: 23 Relay for Life teams raised $40,000 As chairs of this year's American Cancer Society Relay For Life of Madison County, we would like to thank everyone for their generosity and support.

    July 17, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Do you expect your physician to follow state standards and laws?

Of course
Not always
Never thought about it
     View Results