The Herald Bulletin

Evening Update

Opinion

October 21, 2013

You Said It: About Sammy Mireles, health care and Anderson Speedway incident

The Herald Bulletin publishes “You Said It,” a compilation of reader comments from www.theheraldbulletin.com coupled with responses by the newspaper’s editorial board.

Elwood football star Sammy Mireles broke the all-time Indiana high school rushing mark last Friday in a game against Alexandria. (Article published Oct. 19.)

◆ “Sammy Mireles is a bright shining star among the youth of Elwood! The great thing is that there are others like him that shine a positive light on our community. I sincerely hope that Sammy’s light shines down on other young citizens and they also strive to be the best at what they want to be! Elwood is a good place to call home.”

THB: A great thing for Mireles, as well as Elwood. Congrats!

An Anderson Speedway driver was arrested and charged with drunken driving during a race last weekend. (Oct. 13)

◆ “This is not normal but a random situation. Anderson Speedway does a great job of making it a super fun and enjoyable, family-friendly experience week after week. The question that stands in my mind is if people knew the guy was drinking before he raced, why did no one speak up before he went on the track? In my opinion, those who knew and said nothing until it was too late are greatly responsible for this situation. All that was needed was for someone to speak up to the police or an official, and this never happens.”

THB: Agreed. If anyone saw him drinking before he raced they should have notified police or track officials. Racing is dangerous enough without adding alcohol to the mix.

According to an Associated Press poll, the Affordable Care Act health exchange rollout is getting poor reviews from citizens. (Oct. 10)

◆ “Hopefully, it completely flops and leaves Democrats with egg in their face. Have you ever known a government program that actually works? I had good insurance before this. Where in the Constitution does it mention health care? Nowhere.”

Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter: President's trade being swept under rug My question to all, why do we keep hearing after a number of months about the shootings in Colorado, Sandy Hook, etc., but yet the president illegally deals with terrorists, trades five for a believed deserter and now it is being swept under the rug?

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: New glass ceiling is $12 an hour All those libertarians, tea party, conservatives (dupes of the rich) are leading America's middle class and poor into poverty and depression.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Constitution, laws being trampled Nancy Pelosi said, "When it comes to protecting the children I'm a lioness!" Too bad that doesn't include the babies who are ripped from the womb. How ironic to hear the progressive liberals talk of compassion for illegals while killing our own.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Liberal says 'illegal' should be taboo Did you see where a well-known liberal wants to do away with the "I" word? 'I' as in "illegal."

    August 1, 2014

  • NWS - HB0728 - World War 1 Local Bob Quinn 2 Editorial: WWI commemorated at 100th anniversary On April 2, 1917, President Woodrow Wilson asked Congress for a declaration of war against Germany. There was overwhelming support. Neutrality was no longer an option. The sinking by Germany of the British ocean liner, the Lusitania, further committed Americans to the cause. Madison County answered the call, too.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Panhandlers give wrong impression of our city First of all, let me start off by saying that I have as much empathy and compassion for those less fortunate as the next person.

    July 31, 2014

  • Editorial: Ring the bell! School is back in session Whether it’s the first first day of school or the last first day of high school, a multitude of unknown obstacles, achievements and milestones await. Enjoy every single one.

    July 30, 2014

  • Editorial: City overzealous in calling for Chamberlain probe In the aftermath of The Herald Bulletin's recent news report that City Councilman Rodney Chamberlain had been cleared of criminal wrongdoing in relation to basketball league funds, one question stands out.

    July 30, 2014

  • OPN - Mootry column mug [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Primus Mootry: The African-American community toward a new narrative African Americans are entirely unique in the annals of American history and, perhaps, the whole history of mankind. This uniqueness demands an African American agenda and, with it, a new narrative, or way of articulating that agenda.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Voters, especially seniors, should ask questions It’s that time of year again. Kids are getting ready for school, corporations are reviewing their semi annual reports and — yes — many seniors are filling out their absentee ballots. Some are voting because they are fed up with the status quo, some out of habit and some because they feel it is their civic duty.

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Do you think school is starting too early?

Yes, it shouldn't start until after Labor Day.
Yes, it shouldn't start for another week or so.
No, it's about right.
Not sure.
     View Results