The Herald Bulletin

Overnight Update

Opinion

October 27, 2013

You Said It: About CATS terminal, the reservoir and a manhunt

The Herald Bulletin publishes “You Said It,” a compilation of reader comments from www.theheraldbulletin.com coupled with responses by the newspaper’s editorial board.

A letter to the editor from a New Albany resident published Oct. 24 opined that the proposed reservoir would be harmful to city and the state.

◆ This area of Anderson isn’t what it was 30 years ago. ... it would be better off under a lake!

◆ None of Anderson is “what it was 30 years ago.”

◆ I’m all for it. ... don’t give a damn about the ‘displaced’ businesses, my Mom’s property value will go up and it’s all about what I will get out of it!

◆ How long are the citizens that will be affected most over this nonsense expected to be held hostage? Will it be allowed to linger on for years as Mr. Sparks tries to secure funding for it?

◆ THB: And the reservoir saga continues

Mayor, council in disagreement over location for a new CATS terminal. (Oct 24)

◆ Which corner at 14th and Central? What would need to be torn down? there isn’t a whole lot of room across from the Dollar store. ... So what are they gonna do away with?

◆ In my opinion, it should be built on property already owned by the city of Anderson, if possible. Who owns the property at 14th & Central, and the property across from dance studio?? When #1 Fire Station was built several years ago, the city purchased that property from a prominent local politician whose party was in office (if I remember correctly). Imagine that.

◆ What happened to the Ockomon plan of building it at the old Cline Lumber site? There used to be a sign there saying it was going to be built at that location.

◆ THB: It’s all a moot point now, since Council vice president Donna Davis introduced an amendment to the budget that had passed first reading at a previous council meeting. That amendment removed all funding for a new CATS terminal and instead new buses will be purchased.

Text Only
Opinion
  • OPN - HB0802 - hp photo with editorial - SU Editorial: Dan Patch Invitational brings national focus The Dan Patch Invitational at Hoosier Park on Aug. 8 brings some of the best standardbreds into the state and brings the local track into a national spotlight. This is a great chance to support the effort to keep the city on the map and a big crowd helps add to the atmosphere.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter: President's trade being swept under rug My question to all, why do we keep hearing after a number of months about the shootings in Colorado, Sandy Hook, etc., but yet the president illegally deals with terrorists, trades five for a believed deserter and now it is being swept under the rug?

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: New glass ceiling is $12 an hour All those libertarians, tea party, conservatives (dupes of the rich) are leading America's middle class and poor into poverty and depression.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Constitution, laws being trampled Nancy Pelosi said, "When it comes to protecting the children I'm a lioness!" Too bad that doesn't include the babies who are ripped from the womb. How ironic to hear the progressive liberals talk of compassion for illegals while killing our own.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Liberal says 'illegal' should be taboo Did you see where a well-known liberal wants to do away with the "I" word? 'I' as in "illegal."

    August 1, 2014

  • NWS - HB0728 - World War 1 Local Bob Quinn 2 Editorial: WWI commemorated at 100th anniversary On April 2, 1917, President Woodrow Wilson asked Congress for a declaration of war against Germany. There was overwhelming support. Neutrality was no longer an option. The sinking by Germany of the British ocean liner, the Lusitania, further committed Americans to the cause. Madison County answered the call, too.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Panhandlers give wrong impression of our city First of all, let me start off by saying that I have as much empathy and compassion for those less fortunate as the next person.

    July 31, 2014

  • Editorial: Ring the bell! School is back in session Whether it’s the first first day of school or the last first day of high school, a multitude of unknown obstacles, achievements and milestones await. Enjoy every single one.

    July 30, 2014

  • Editorial: City overzealous in calling for Chamberlain probe In the aftermath of The Herald Bulletin's recent news report that City Councilman Rodney Chamberlain had been cleared of criminal wrongdoing in relation to basketball league funds, one question stands out.

    July 30, 2014

  • OPN - Mootry column mug [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Primus Mootry: The African-American community toward a new narrative African Americans are entirely unique in the annals of American history and, perhaps, the whole history of mankind. This uniqueness demands an African American agenda and, with it, a new narrative, or way of articulating that agenda.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

How many Dan Patch races have you attended?

None
1-2
3 or more
All 20
     View Results