The Herald Bulletin

Evening Update

Opinion

June 15, 2013

Viewpoint: Theatrics displayed in County Council's wheel tax vote

Theatrics displayed in Council's wheel tax vote

I was present at the Madison County Council meeting on May 13 to discuss reinstating the wheel tax. I was both amused and amazed by the theatrics that transpired and by the lack of competence and yet arrogance by the council president. He reminded me of a dictator when he stated, “I said two minutes! Now order in the council chamber!” (I’ll explain later.)

At the end of the meeting, he did not even know how to phrase a motion; he had to ask the attorney. He even had to ask the attorney if he could vote on the tax. It seems, at least to this casual observer, that this should be knowledge the council president should possess. There was one council member who was very professional, had facts and statistics and presented them very well. Too bad they fell on deaf ears.

When it was time to take comments/questions from the audience, the dictator laid down some ground rules. One was — each person would get two minutes to speak. Another council member asked to change that to three, and the dictator became loud and angry and made the above statement. Bam! He then hit the gavel. Then, he further stated, “I’m gonna go across each aisle and give each person a chance to talk, from front to back, until every person has had a chance to talk.” What does he do next? He violates his very own dictate. He states, “Where is John Paugh? John, come on down here. You get to go first.” All I could think was, “You hypocrite!” He asked all the ‘important’ people to come down and speak before we “common folk” got our chance. He gave the “important people” all the time they needed, but for the “common people,” when their two minutes were up, bam went the gavel.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter: President's trade being swept under rug My question to all, why do we keep hearing after a number of months about the shootings in Colorado, Sandy Hook, etc., but yet the president illegally deals with terrorists, trades five for a believed deserter and now it is being swept under the rug?

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: New glass ceiling is $12 an hour All those libertarians, tea party, conservatives (dupes of the rich) are leading America's middle class and poor into poverty and depression.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Constitution, laws being trampled Nancy Pelosi said, "When it comes to protecting the children I'm a lioness!" Too bad that doesn't include the babies who are ripped from the womb. How ironic to hear the progressive liberals talk of compassion for illegals while killing our own.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Liberal says 'illegal' should be taboo Did you see where a well-known liberal wants to do away with the "I" word? 'I' as in "illegal."

    August 1, 2014

  • NWS - HB0728 - World War 1 Local Bob Quinn 2 Editorial: WWI commemorated at 100th anniversary On April 2, 1917, President Woodrow Wilson asked Congress for a declaration of war against Germany. There was overwhelming support. Neutrality was no longer an option. The sinking by Germany of the British ocean liner, the Lusitania, further committed Americans to the cause. Madison County answered the call, too.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Panhandlers give wrong impression of our city First of all, let me start off by saying that I have as much empathy and compassion for those less fortunate as the next person.

    July 31, 2014

  • Editorial: Ring the bell! School is back in session Whether it’s the first first day of school or the last first day of high school, a multitude of unknown obstacles, achievements and milestones await. Enjoy every single one.

    July 30, 2014

  • Editorial: City overzealous in calling for Chamberlain probe In the aftermath of The Herald Bulletin's recent news report that City Councilman Rodney Chamberlain had been cleared of criminal wrongdoing in relation to basketball league funds, one question stands out.

    July 30, 2014

  • OPN - Mootry column mug [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Primus Mootry: The African-American community toward a new narrative African Americans are entirely unique in the annals of American history and, perhaps, the whole history of mankind. This uniqueness demands an African American agenda and, with it, a new narrative, or way of articulating that agenda.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Voters, especially seniors, should ask questions It’s that time of year again. Kids are getting ready for school, corporations are reviewing their semi annual reports and — yes — many seniors are filling out their absentee ballots. Some are voting because they are fed up with the status quo, some out of habit and some because they feel it is their civic duty.

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

How many Dan Patch races have you attended?

None
1-2
3 or more
All 20
     View Results