The Herald Bulletin

Evening Update

Opinion

July 14, 2014

Viewpoint: Goodstock crowd continues to be considerate

On July 5th Good’s Candy Shop held its sixth annual Goodstock. This event features live music, food and a car show. This year was a record turnout with 120 cars on display and over 1,200 people visiting.

Success in business is measured by profit and longevity. This event reminds me that on some days’ success is measured by something else, people. I’ve said many times we have the best guests in the world and you proved it once again during this event. After all guests, car owners and bands exited we were left with cleanup. It did not take long as there was not a single piece of trash left anywhere! It was as though no one was ever here. It is like this each year. We do not list any rules or regulations for conduct, parking or anything else for that matter. You continue to be respectful, kind and very considerate. We appreciate how you practice the rule of reciprocity at Good’s Candy Shop. We work to provide free family fun and in return you show us wonderful support. I’ve been in business a long time here in Anderson and finding success is no easier or difficult than it would be somewhere else. Business is difficult regardless of where it is being conducted, however; it is you, our people who make the difference.

We do not expect or take for granted community support, it is earned, just like anything else of value. We place a very high value on you and will continue to work to earn your support.

I wish to thank Precision Collision, GEO Maintenance and Prairie Farms for their support of this fun day.

Thank you for a wonderful Goodstock event!

Randy Good

Anderson

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter: President's trade being swept under rug My question to all, why do we keep hearing after a number of months about the shootings in Colorado, Sandy Hook, etc., but yet the president illegally deals with terrorists, trades five for a believed deserter and now it is being swept under the rug?

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: New glass ceiling is $12 an hour All those libertarians, tea party, conservatives (dupes of the rich) are leading America's middle class and poor into poverty and depression.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Constitution, laws being trampled Nancy Pelosi said, "When it comes to protecting the children I'm a lioness!" Too bad that doesn't include the babies who are ripped from the womb. How ironic to hear the progressive liberals talk of compassion for illegals while killing our own.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Liberal says 'illegal' should be taboo Did you see where a well-known liberal wants to do away with the "I" word? 'I' as in "illegal."

    August 1, 2014

  • NWS - HB0728 - World War 1 Local Bob Quinn 2 Editorial: WWI commemorated at 100th anniversary On April 2, 1917, President Woodrow Wilson asked Congress for a declaration of war against Germany. There was overwhelming support. Neutrality was no longer an option. The sinking by Germany of the British ocean liner, the Lusitania, further committed Americans to the cause. Madison County answered the call, too.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Panhandlers give wrong impression of our city First of all, let me start off by saying that I have as much empathy and compassion for those less fortunate as the next person.

    July 31, 2014

  • Editorial: Ring the bell! School is back in session Whether it’s the first first day of school or the last first day of high school, a multitude of unknown obstacles, achievements and milestones await. Enjoy every single one.

    July 30, 2014

  • Editorial: City overzealous in calling for Chamberlain probe In the aftermath of The Herald Bulletin's recent news report that City Councilman Rodney Chamberlain had been cleared of criminal wrongdoing in relation to basketball league funds, one question stands out.

    July 30, 2014

  • OPN - Mootry column mug [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Primus Mootry: The African-American community toward a new narrative African Americans are entirely unique in the annals of American history and, perhaps, the whole history of mankind. This uniqueness demands an African American agenda and, with it, a new narrative, or way of articulating that agenda.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Voters, especially seniors, should ask questions It’s that time of year again. Kids are getting ready for school, corporations are reviewing their semi annual reports and — yes — many seniors are filling out their absentee ballots. Some are voting because they are fed up with the status quo, some out of habit and some because they feel it is their civic duty.

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

How many Dan Patch races have you attended?

None
1-2
3 or more
All 20
     View Results