The Herald Bulletin

Morning Update

Opinion

March 31, 2013

Jesse J. Wilkerson: Mounds Lake proposal an idea worth considering

ANDERSON, Ind. — I have often heard it said that variety is the spice of life. We have lived with one wave of thought so long that anything new sounds like a foreign gospel. I at times have had to fight the urge to shut down at hearing an idea that stretched me.

What I have observed from my travel is that communities are the same everywhere. I have gathered that they are the same because they are filled with people, and people are generally the same everywhere go.

What makes a community successful? People do.

I live in a world where I am constantly problem solving. It is part of my job. Ideas lead you places. They take you on a train of thought that, though the destination is not guaranteed, helps you cross barriers that might otherwise cause you to abandon exploration.

Not all ideas are good. Nor are all ideas bad. When we stop generating ideas we might as well pitch in the towel and stop living.

How do you determine if an idea like the $350 million proposal for Mounds Lake Reservoir is potentially successful? Do you line up all the pros and cons and allow them to duel it out in your mind? Or maybe you gather as much empirical data as possible so that any decision you make has to be observed from a “black-and-white” position.

What if we considered any idea as an exploration to find out more to stretch ourselves for a broader reality? I have been standing on a soapbox for years proclaiming that we should beware of negative words and negative voices. I have also advocated that we challenge ourselves to see something bigger, to stretch further, go deeper in creating a new identity for ourselves.

Anderson/Madison County has been presented a unique opportunity, via the reservoir proposal. It is obvious it is not what we are accustomed to thinking. Some of us will consider the political-will factor and disengage all possibility. Others of us will get stuck at the cost alone and dismiss the idea.

By the way, did you know the presidential inauguration cost about $300 million, the Pacers can likely be purchased for about $320 million, and it is reported that the Afghan war cost $300 million a day?

I am grateful for those who considered the obstacles and decided to continue on. Without them we wouldn’t have any new ideas to consider. It is a shift in the way we see ourselves and the way that others see us, as well.

Jesse J. Wilkerson is the owner of a local architecture and design firm. His column appears every other Monday.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Editorial: Health center problem could have been avoided The lives and reputations of three healthcare professionals have been ruined by mismanagement at the Madison County Community Health Center. It could have been avoided.

    July 22, 2014

  • Bannon, Tom Viewpoint: Paramount is an investment that is paying dividends About 25 years ago the citizens of Anderson made a decision that would have a long lasting impact on the community. Instead of saving the old Paramount Theatre, which had fallen into serious disrepair, it was decided that the easy and prudent decision was to get rid of the building to create additional downtown parking. Shortly after the Paramount came down, the community got rid of another abandoned structure when the old Carnegie Building, which was the former home of the Anderson Public Library, was torn down.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • You Said It: About the reservoir, immigration and more on the Wigwam Each Monday, The Herald Bulletin publishes “You Said It,” a compilation of readers’ comments from www.theheraldbulletin.com coupled with responses by the newspaper’s editorial board.

    July 21, 2014

  • underwood mug [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Scott Underwood: Colts camp, 4-H fair demand our attention Late July is a busy, exciting time in Madison County. With the school year approaching fast, folks want to savor the long, hot (well, not so hot lately) days of July.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Maureen Hayden: Expiring term heightens the urgency of one lawmaker’s mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki may have lost the Republican primary to a Tea Party challenger, but the two-term Republican from Kosciusko County is not going away quietly.

    July 20, 2014

  • Indiana State of State-12 [Duplicate] Editorial: State surplus comes at expense of Hoosiers' well-being If Indiana is taking in $59.8 million less – blamed on declines in revenues from the riverboat gambling tax, inheritance tax and individual income tax – and still is able to save $106.8 million, that extra cash isn’t being plucked from a secret forest of money trees.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NWS - HB0727 - horse and pony - DK - 266 Editorial: 4-H members have goals, dreams

    This week's Madison County 4-H Fair is an opportunity to showcase area youth. They're proud of their work. Their hopeful of their futures. And they're willing to put their goals and dreams in the public eye.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • NWS - HB0626 - Shoot - 03 Editorial: License suspension makes sense in Roger Shoot case Some will object when a person accused of a crime is punished by a professional organization before conviction.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter: Wall Street should not be in politics Talk about corruption, ponzi schemes, we're looking at you, Wall Street, controlling the prices of our food, gasoline and clothing we must buy and about every company in America — while trashing President Obama, the Affordable Health Care Plan, along with every Democrat, to influence our elections, at the same time.

    July 17, 2014

  • Letter: 23 Relay for Life teams raised $40,000 As chairs of this year's American Cancer Society Relay For Life of Madison County, we would like to thank everyone for their generosity and support.

    July 17, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Do you expect your physician to follow state standards and laws?

Of course
Not always
Never thought about it
     View Results