The Herald Bulletin

Evening Update

Opinion

November 20, 2013

Letter: Presidential power takes away citizens' rights

I've pondered how our current president seems to have more power than any other president in our history. I'm just amazed how he can do what he does and get away with it. There has been scandal after scandal. There has been executive order after executive order signed, increasingly taking away more rights of the citizens. Who needs Congress?

In reality, the global elitists probably could not have chosen a better man to execute their insidious policies. He represents their interests well. That said, the real power lies with the global elitists behind the scenes, which control what does and does not take place in our government. The President is just a point man for their efforts. Never mind that he never had to reveal his records. Never mind he came out of nowhere with minuscule experience. The global elitists have promoted and protected him from the beginning.

Of course, the global elitists also control the media. As such, the global elitists tell the citizens what they need to know. Most citizens don't realize that the Patriot Act and Obamacare are, in reality, control bills. Groundwork is being laid for the demise of this country as we know it. The Constitution has purposely been targeted as a key part of this demise.

In reference to Obamacare, it will bring devastation to this country if fully implemented. I cannot be more emphatic about that statement. This bill is not in America's best interests, and there is a hidden agenda. Michael ImhofAnderson

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter: President's trade being swept under rug My question to all, why do we keep hearing after a number of months about the shootings in Colorado, Sandy Hook, etc., but yet the president illegally deals with terrorists, trades five for a believed deserter and now it is being swept under the rug?

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: New glass ceiling is $12 an hour All those libertarians, tea party, conservatives (dupes of the rich) are leading America's middle class and poor into poverty and depression.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Constitution, laws being trampled Nancy Pelosi said, "When it comes to protecting the children I'm a lioness!" Too bad that doesn't include the babies who are ripped from the womb. How ironic to hear the progressive liberals talk of compassion for illegals while killing our own.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Liberal says 'illegal' should be taboo Did you see where a well-known liberal wants to do away with the "I" word? 'I' as in "illegal."

    August 1, 2014

  • NWS - HB0728 - World War 1 Local Bob Quinn 2 Editorial: WWI commemorated at 100th anniversary On April 2, 1917, President Woodrow Wilson asked Congress for a declaration of war against Germany. There was overwhelming support. Neutrality was no longer an option. The sinking by Germany of the British ocean liner, the Lusitania, further committed Americans to the cause. Madison County answered the call, too.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Panhandlers give wrong impression of our city First of all, let me start off by saying that I have as much empathy and compassion for those less fortunate as the next person.

    July 31, 2014

  • Editorial: Ring the bell! School is back in session Whether it’s the first first day of school or the last first day of high school, a multitude of unknown obstacles, achievements and milestones await. Enjoy every single one.

    July 30, 2014

  • Editorial: City overzealous in calling for Chamberlain probe In the aftermath of The Herald Bulletin's recent news report that City Councilman Rodney Chamberlain had been cleared of criminal wrongdoing in relation to basketball league funds, one question stands out.

    July 30, 2014

  • OPN - Mootry column mug [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Primus Mootry: The African-American community toward a new narrative African Americans are entirely unique in the annals of American history and, perhaps, the whole history of mankind. This uniqueness demands an African American agenda and, with it, a new narrative, or way of articulating that agenda.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Voters, especially seniors, should ask questions It’s that time of year again. Kids are getting ready for school, corporations are reviewing their semi annual reports and — yes — many seniors are filling out their absentee ballots. Some are voting because they are fed up with the status quo, some out of habit and some because they feel it is their civic duty.

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

How many Dan Patch races have you attended?

None
1-2
3 or more
All 20
     View Results