The Herald Bulletin

Overnight Update

Opinion

October 8, 2013

Emmett Dulaney: Taxed pennies add up

(Continued)

◆ Result in a substantial increase in temporary and permanent employment opportunities and private sector investment within the county.”

Madison County was the fifth of the counties to implement the tax but since they didn’t see the need for a detention or civic center, it opted for the latter option: to fund economic development. Since its inception, the Madison County Council of Governments has reviewed and voted on applications based on (per their packet) whether or not the project will “promote the economic vitality of Madison County.” Project selection criteria include community need, job creation/retention, private leverage, and the use of other public money.

Benjamin Franklin was on to something when he realized how much those extra pennies can add up to. Almost $1 million (over $987,000) was awarded at the end of last year and Page 5 of the Madison County Council minutes from Dec. 27, 2012 (http://www.madisoncty.com/County%20Council/CCM122712.pdf) shows the complete list of allocations. While it is hard to be opposed to waterparks and sewer repairs, I am somehow missing the economic development part of the awards given. Not to be misunderstood, I love a rebuilt police station as much as the next guy and water tower repairs make me weak in the knees, but I’m not sure that the Frederick Douglas historic marker (awarded $3,550) is what the Legislature had in mind 24 years ago when they required Madison County McDonald’s to charge an extra 1 percent tax on every purchase for economic development purposes. Where is the attraction of business and the increase in employment that this tax was intended for? Do we need to implement yet another tax to finally fund those endeavors?

Emmett Dulaney is the author of several books on technology and an Anderson resident. His column appears Tuesdays.

 

 

Text Only
Opinion
  • OPN - HB0802 - hp photo with editorial - SU Editorial: Dan Patch Invitational brings national focus The Dan Patch Invitational at Hoosier Park on Aug. 8 brings some of the best standardbreds into the state and brings the local track into a national spotlight. This is a great chance to support the effort to keep the city on the map and a big crowd helps add to the atmosphere.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter: President's trade being swept under rug My question to all, why do we keep hearing after a number of months about the shootings in Colorado, Sandy Hook, etc., but yet the president illegally deals with terrorists, trades five for a believed deserter and now it is being swept under the rug?

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: New glass ceiling is $12 an hour All those libertarians, tea party, conservatives (dupes of the rich) are leading America's middle class and poor into poverty and depression.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Constitution, laws being trampled Nancy Pelosi said, "When it comes to protecting the children I'm a lioness!" Too bad that doesn't include the babies who are ripped from the womb. How ironic to hear the progressive liberals talk of compassion for illegals while killing our own.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Liberal says 'illegal' should be taboo Did you see where a well-known liberal wants to do away with the "I" word? 'I' as in "illegal."

    August 1, 2014

  • NWS - HB0728 - World War 1 Local Bob Quinn 2 Editorial: WWI commemorated at 100th anniversary On April 2, 1917, President Woodrow Wilson asked Congress for a declaration of war against Germany. There was overwhelming support. Neutrality was no longer an option. The sinking by Germany of the British ocean liner, the Lusitania, further committed Americans to the cause. Madison County answered the call, too.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Panhandlers give wrong impression of our city First of all, let me start off by saying that I have as much empathy and compassion for those less fortunate as the next person.

    July 31, 2014

  • Editorial: Ring the bell! School is back in session Whether it’s the first first day of school or the last first day of high school, a multitude of unknown obstacles, achievements and milestones await. Enjoy every single one.

    July 30, 2014

  • Editorial: City overzealous in calling for Chamberlain probe In the aftermath of The Herald Bulletin's recent news report that City Councilman Rodney Chamberlain had been cleared of criminal wrongdoing in relation to basketball league funds, one question stands out.

    July 30, 2014

  • OPN - Mootry column mug [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Primus Mootry: The African-American community toward a new narrative African Americans are entirely unique in the annals of American history and, perhaps, the whole history of mankind. This uniqueness demands an African American agenda and, with it, a new narrative, or way of articulating that agenda.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

How many Dan Patch races have you attended?

None
1-2
3 or more
All 20
     View Results