The Herald Bulletin

Evening Update

Opinion

October 27, 2013

Scott Underwood: Visit to AU feels like a homecoming

Anderson University is a special please to thousands of people.

The beauty of the campus, particularly the Valley area, has swayed many a high school student trying to choose between small Christian schools to attend AU. Expanded academic offerings, new facilities, and church and family connections can also be decisive factors.

Above all, I think, it's the spirit of AU that attracts new students and keeps graduates coming back to campus for events like this past weekend's homecoming festivities.

The university's administrators, faculty, other staff and students are, almost without exception, interested in the greater good. They're friendly, engaging and genuine.

One of the things I've enjoyed most since coming back to work at The Herald Bulletin in 2007 is the opportunity to spend more time on campus and to interact with AU folks.

Saturday, my 12-year-old son, Simon, and I visited AU to attend a volleyball match. Walking across the east side of campus, I pointed out Smith Hall to him and explained that my freshman year living at Smith was one of the funnest years of my life.

I feel special connections to other places at AU, as well, most notably O.C. Lewis Gym, where I had the privilege of playing for the Raven basketball team back in the late 1980s.

That's where Simon and I settled in to watch the volleyball match Saturday. The Ravens were playing Hanover College, a rivalry that dates back well past my AU/AC days.

We went to the match to watch Kyanne Stewart and Krissy Whiteley — both friends of our family — play for AU. But we had the good fortune of running into others with whom I have AU connections. It felt good to chat and reminisce a bit about the old college days.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter: President's trade being swept under rug My question to all, why do we keep hearing after a number of months about the shootings in Colorado, Sandy Hook, etc., but yet the president illegally deals with terrorists, trades five for a believed deserter and now it is being swept under the rug?

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: New glass ceiling is $12 an hour All those libertarians, tea party, conservatives (dupes of the rich) are leading America's middle class and poor into poverty and depression.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Constitution, laws being trampled Nancy Pelosi said, "When it comes to protecting the children I'm a lioness!" Too bad that doesn't include the babies who are ripped from the womb. How ironic to hear the progressive liberals talk of compassion for illegals while killing our own.

    August 1, 2014

  • Letter: Liberal says 'illegal' should be taboo Did you see where a well-known liberal wants to do away with the "I" word? 'I' as in "illegal."

    August 1, 2014

  • NWS - HB0728 - World War 1 Local Bob Quinn 2 Editorial: WWI commemorated at 100th anniversary On April 2, 1917, President Woodrow Wilson asked Congress for a declaration of war against Germany. There was overwhelming support. Neutrality was no longer an option. The sinking by Germany of the British ocean liner, the Lusitania, further committed Americans to the cause. Madison County answered the call, too.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Panhandlers give wrong impression of our city First of all, let me start off by saying that I have as much empathy and compassion for those less fortunate as the next person.

    July 31, 2014

  • Editorial: Ring the bell! School is back in session Whether it’s the first first day of school or the last first day of high school, a multitude of unknown obstacles, achievements and milestones await. Enjoy every single one.

    July 30, 2014

  • Editorial: City overzealous in calling for Chamberlain probe In the aftermath of The Herald Bulletin's recent news report that City Councilman Rodney Chamberlain had been cleared of criminal wrongdoing in relation to basketball league funds, one question stands out.

    July 30, 2014

  • OPN - Mootry column mug [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Primus Mootry: The African-American community toward a new narrative African Americans are entirely unique in the annals of American history and, perhaps, the whole history of mankind. This uniqueness demands an African American agenda and, with it, a new narrative, or way of articulating that agenda.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Viewpoint: Voters, especially seniors, should ask questions It’s that time of year again. Kids are getting ready for school, corporations are reviewing their semi annual reports and — yes — many seniors are filling out their absentee ballots. Some are voting because they are fed up with the status quo, some out of habit and some because they feel it is their civic duty.

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

How many Dan Patch races have you attended?

None
1-2
3 or more
All 20
     View Results