The Herald Bulletin

Morning Update

Opinion

July 31, 2013

Letter: Stand and fight, don't run away

Running away is not best advice

Americans, you now have a "duty" to turn tail and run when you are confronted with danger; so says United States Attorney Eric Holder. This is the most absurd thing I think I've ever heard from a government official. They are telling you to chicken out when you are threatened. I don't think it's in the American makeup to run away.

Certainly, there was a miscarriage of justice in the George Zimmerman trial. But, Castle Doctrine was not the cause of it. Remember the jury? It was they who found Zimmerman not guilty. There is nothing wrong with Castle Doctrine laws. Every American citizen has the right to defend themselves and what is theirs. Not so, says the attorney general. You have a "duty" to retreat from danger. Thank God this bunch wasn't in office when the Japanese clobbered Pearl Harbor. Otherwise, Japanese would be the official language in America today.

Every American, whether they be a NRA member or just an honest law-abiding gun owner, or a plain lover of freedom, should make a commitment right now, to "stand your ground" against these attacks on your freedom.

Al Sharpton, Hillary Clinton and all the liberal stalwarts are leading the charge to eliminate the Castle Doctrine laws. They are speechless (almost) with outrage. What I would like to know is, where was all this outrage when O.J. Simpson got off the hook when two people were killed? Where were the marches, the speeches, the sign toters? Need I tell you? They were all busy celebrating.

Wake up, America, or you may one day wake to a country that is no longer free.

Wendell J. Clark

Anderson resident

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Editorial: Health center problem could have been avoided The lives and reputations of three healthcare professionals have been ruined by mismanagement at the Madison County Community Health Center. It could have been avoided.

    July 22, 2014

  • Bannon, Tom Viewpoint: Paramount is an investment that is paying dividends About 25 years ago the citizens of Anderson made a decision that would have a long lasting impact on the community. Instead of saving the old Paramount Theatre, which had fallen into serious disrepair, it was decided that the easy and prudent decision was to get rid of the building to create additional downtown parking. Shortly after the Paramount came down, the community got rid of another abandoned structure when the old Carnegie Building, which was the former home of the Anderson Public Library, was torn down.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • You Said It: About the reservoir, immigration and more on the Wigwam Each Monday, The Herald Bulletin publishes “You Said It,” a compilation of readers’ comments from www.theheraldbulletin.com coupled with responses by the newspaper’s editorial board.

    July 21, 2014

  • underwood mug [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Scott Underwood: Colts camp, 4-H fair demand our attention Late July is a busy, exciting time in Madison County. With the school year approaching fast, folks want to savor the long, hot (well, not so hot lately) days of July.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Maureen Hayden: Expiring term heightens the urgency of one lawmaker’s mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki may have lost the Republican primary to a Tea Party challenger, but the two-term Republican from Kosciusko County is not going away quietly.

    July 20, 2014

  • Indiana State of State-12 [Duplicate] Editorial: State surplus comes at expense of Hoosiers' well-being If Indiana is taking in $59.8 million less – blamed on declines in revenues from the riverboat gambling tax, inheritance tax and individual income tax – and still is able to save $106.8 million, that extra cash isn’t being plucked from a secret forest of money trees.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NWS - HB0727 - horse and pony - DK - 266 Editorial: 4-H members have goals, dreams

    This week's Madison County 4-H Fair is an opportunity to showcase area youth. They're proud of their work. Their hopeful of their futures. And they're willing to put their goals and dreams in the public eye.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • NWS - HB0626 - Shoot - 03 Editorial: License suspension makes sense in Roger Shoot case Some will object when a person accused of a crime is punished by a professional organization before conviction.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter: Wall Street should not be in politics Talk about corruption, ponzi schemes, we're looking at you, Wall Street, controlling the prices of our food, gasoline and clothing we must buy and about every company in America — while trashing President Obama, the Affordable Health Care Plan, along with every Democrat, to influence our elections, at the same time.

    July 17, 2014

  • Letter: 23 Relay for Life teams raised $40,000 As chairs of this year's American Cancer Society Relay For Life of Madison County, we would like to thank everyone for their generosity and support.

    July 17, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Do you expect your physician to follow state standards and laws?

Of course
Not always
Never thought about it
     View Results