The Herald Bulletin

January 12, 2014

Primary battles taking shape

15 candidates file for state, county offices

By Ken de la Bastide The Herald Bulletin
The Herald Bulletin

---- — ANDERSON – In the early stages of filing for the upcoming primary, there appears to be at least three contested races for party nominations for county offices.

Through the first three days of filing for the May 6 primary, 15 candidates have filed for either state or county offices. Nine Republicans and six Democrats have filed with the Madison County Clerk’s Office or Indiana Secretary of State as of Friday.

Two Republicans, Steven Sumner and Mike Phipps, have filed their declarations of candidacy for the party’s nomination for the District 2 seat on the Madison County Council.

The District 2 seat is currently filled by Democrat Buddy Patterson, who has not filed his candidacy for re-election. Prior to the start of filing two other Democrats, Brian K. Ball and Adams Jones, formed campaign committees through the clerk’s office for the nomination. Neither Ball nor Jones has filed for the primary election.

Democrat Larry “Dick” Symmes has filed for the party’s nomination for the District 3 seat on the Madison County Council, which has been held for many years by current council President John Bostic.

Two Democrats have filed for their party nomination to possibly challenge incumbent Republicans on the county council.

Clayton Whitson has filed for the District 1 council seat nomination. The position is currently held by Republican David McCartney.

Former county councilman Larry Higgins has filed for the Democratic Party nomination for the District 4 seat, which is currently held by Republican Rick Gardner.

McCartney and Gardner have not filed candidate declarations during the first three days of the filing period.

As expected, there are potential primary fights for the nomination for Madison County sheriff in both parties. Incumbent Democrat Ron Richardson is prohibited by the Indiana Constitution from running for a third term.

Republicans Bruce Dunham and Sam Hanna and Democrats Brian Bell and Scott Mellinger have entered their parties’ primaries.

A third Republican, Tony Boze, has formed a campaign committee but has not filed a declaration of candidacy for the primary election.

Democrat Barbara Johnson has filed for the party’s nomination for another term as Anderson Township trustee. Republican Phil Herbig has filed for the GOP nomination.

Democrat Tim Lanane has filed for another term in District 25 of the Indiana Senate and Republican P. Eric Turner is seeking the Republican Party nomination for another term in House District 32.

Follow Ken de la Bastide @KendelaBastide on Twitter, or call 640-4863.

These candidates have filed their declaration of candidacies for the May 6 primary with the Madison County Clerk's office or with the Indiana Secretary of State's office through Friday. The deadline to file is Feb. 7 at noon. Not included are candidates for precinct committeemen and delegates to the state party conventions. Indiana Senate, District 25 Tim Lanane, Democrat Indiana House, District 32 P. Eric Turner, Republican Madison County Clerk Darlene Likens, Republican Madison County Recorder Linda Smith, Republican Madison County Treasurer Kelly Gaskill, Republican Madison County Commissioner (South District) Steffanie Owens, Republican Madison County Sheriff Bruce Dunham, Republican Sam Hanna, Republican Brian Bell, Democrat Scott Mellinger, Democrat Madison County Council, District 1 Clayton Whitson, Democrat Madison County Council, District 2 Steven (Craig) Sumner, Republican Mike Phipps, Republican Madison County Council, District 3 Larry (Dick) Symmes, Democrat Madison County Council, District 4 Larry Higgins, Democrat Pendleton Town Council at large John Armington, Democrat Anderson Township Trustee Barbara Johnson, Democrat Phil Herbig, Republican Adams Township Board Stephen Schuyler, Republican Fall Creek Township board Tim Pritchard, Democrat Green Township Trustee Greg Valentine, Republican Monroe Township Trustee Ed Gaines, Democrat Van Buren Township Trustee Charles Coats, Democrat Van Buren Township board Jerry Bair, Democrat Jerry Brummet, Democrat Larry Waller, Democrat