The Herald Bulletin

Morning Update

Local Politics

January 12, 2014

Primary battles taking shape

15 candidates file for state, county offices


A third Republican, Tony Boze, has formed a campaign committee but has not filed a declaration of candidacy for the primary election.

Democrat Barbara Johnson has filed for the party’s nomination for another term as Anderson Township trustee. Republican Phil Herbig has filed for the GOP nomination.

Democrat Tim Lanane has filed for another term in District 25 of the Indiana Senate and Republican P. Eric Turner is seeking the Republican Party nomination for another term in House District 32.

Follow Ken de la Bastide @KendelaBastide on Twitter, or call 640-4863.

These candidates have filed their declaration of candidacies for the May 6 primary with the Madison County Clerk's office or with the Indiana Secretary of State's office through Friday. The deadline to file is Feb. 7 at noon. Not included are candidates for precinct committeemen and delegates to the state party conventions. Indiana Senate, District 25 Tim Lanane, Democrat Indiana House, District 32 P. Eric Turner, Republican Madison County Clerk Darlene Likens, Republican Madison County Recorder Linda Smith, Republican Madison County Treasurer Kelly Gaskill, Republican Madison County Commissioner (South District) Steffanie Owens, Republican Madison County Sheriff Bruce Dunham, Republican Sam Hanna, Republican Brian Bell, Democrat Scott Mellinger, Democrat Madison County Council, District 1 Clayton Whitson, Democrat Madison County Council, District 2 Steven (Craig) Sumner, Republican Mike Phipps, Republican Madison County Council, District 3 Larry (Dick) Symmes, Democrat Madison County Council, District 4 Larry Higgins, Democrat Pendleton Town Council at large John Armington, Democrat Anderson Township Trustee Barbara Johnson, Democrat Phil Herbig, Republican Adams Township Board Stephen Schuyler, Republican Fall Creek Township board Tim Pritchard, Democrat Green Township Trustee Greg Valentine, Republican Monroe Township Trustee Ed Gaines, Democrat Van Buren Township Trustee Charles Coats, Democrat Van Buren Township board Jerry Bair, Democrat Jerry Brummet, Democrat Larry Waller, Democrat

Text Only
Local Politics
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide