The Herald Bulletin

August 8, 2013

Sportsman makes final Anderson appearance Saturday

For The Herald Bulletin
The Herald Bulletin

---- — ANDERSON — Anderson Speedway returns to action on Saturday with CRA Late Model Sportsman, ThunderCars along with Figure 8s.

The CRA Late Model Sportsman division makes a final season appearance at Anderson Speedway. In the previous three races this season, feature winners include Trey Craig (May 11), Jason Atkinson (July 13) and most recently Chris Hacker (July 19).

In that division, Mark Lambert leads K.C. Spillers by seven points in the season standings. Both drivers have posted three podium finishes at Anderson this year. The remainder of the top five includes Jason Atkinson, Chris Hacker and Ronnie Rose.

The regulars of the Late Models will also be part of Saturday’s 75-lap event. Ronnie Rose leads Rob Allman by 125 markers in the point standings. Third is Jeff Williams with Joe Woodring and Chris Hacker completing the top five.

In the ThunderCars, Tom Gossar became the third different winner when he took the checkered flag last weekend. Curtis Chapman continues to pace the division with six feature wins.

Jerry Dane has posted a division leading six feature victories including the three previous main events in the Front Wheel Drives Oval. Other drivers to visit the winner’s circle include Elliott McKinney, Chris Jennings, Nick Warner and Paul Phipps.

In the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s, defending champion Mike Alley earned his first victory on Aug. 3. Kevin Henson and Elliott McKinney continue to wage the battle for the division title. Feature winners this year include Kevin Henson, Elliott McKinney, Nick Warner and Donnie Ellis Jr.

Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6 to 12. Children 5 and under get in free.