The Herald Bulletin

Morning Update

Auto Racing

October 20, 2013

Daleville's Pierce captures USSA title

ANDERSON — Aaron Pierce continued his dominance of the USSA Sprint Car Challenge by winning Saturday for the third time this season and capturing the inaugural championship.

On UAW Paint the Night Pink at Anderson Speedway, which raised over $20,000 to fight breast cancer, Pierce started fourth in the 50-lap feature and immediately went to the high side to move into contention for the lead.

Pendleton’s Travis Welpott led the first four laps before being passed by Tony Hunt using the high line entering Turn 1, and Pierce followed suit on the front straight.

Pierce and Kody Swanson got inside of Hunt on Lap 9, and from there the Daleville driver was never seriously challenged for the lead.

The only caution flag waved on Lap 20 when Welpott spun coming off the fourth corner. At the same time, fast qualifier Brian Olson was forced from the race with a water leak while running fifth.

Following Pierce to the checkers was Olson, Chris Neuenschwander, Hunt and Brad Armstrong.

Garrett Green captured rookie of the year honors.

Pierce said he has a good set-up for the Anderson Speedway high-banked oval.

“I’ve been racing here since 1996,” he said. “I’ve got a lot of laps here.”

Martinsville driver Danny Trent used a restart on Lap 9 to slip around the outside of early leader Mark Lambert, surviving a restart with four laps remaining to win for the third time in the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models.

Lambert took the early lead after setting fast time during qualifications and jumped into the lead.

Fred Hopkins moved into the third spot by getting inside of Chris Hacker on the second lap, but the two tangled while battling for position on Lap 9 in Turn 2.

Jeff Marcum, looking for his fourth consecutive win, passed Lambert on Lap 15 with an inside move coming off the second corner. Marcum had one final shot at passing Trent when Rob Noel brought out the caution flag on Lap 37 with a spin in Turn 4.

Marcum slipped on the restart entering Turn 1, which allowed Lambert to reclaim the second spot behind Trent. Ron Allman and Steve Stacy rounded out the top five.

Anderson driver Ronnie Rose was crowned the 2013 champion in the division with Allman finishing second.

Text Only
Auto Racing
  • SPL - PT041014 - Ken de la Bastide column - Ken sig Ken de la Bastide: Hunter-Reay's blunder proves costly A lack of patience cost Ryan Hunter-Reay and teammate James Hinchcliffe a chance at victory last weekend in the Verizon IndyCar Series race at Long Beach.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Poore gets Street Stock victory Anderson’s Josh Poore took advantage of a restart to pass early leader Dustin Burge and capture the Street Stock feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

    April 12, 2014

  • Ken de la Bastide: Chase Elliott making headlines This past weekend at Texas Motor Speedway the two NASCAR races were won by some of the younger drivers in the Nationwide and Sprint Cup series.

    April 8, 2014

  • Shackleford scores WOFS win Jess Shackleford took the lead on a restart with 28 laps remaining and survived four more restarts to win the inaugural Winged Outlaw Figure-8 Series race at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

    April 5, 2014

  • Armstrong looking to move up Shenandoah graduate Dakoda Armstrong has an opportunity this weekend to take a familiar path and move up in the NASCAR Nationwide standings.

    April 4, 2014

  • SPL - PT030514 - Ken de la Bastide column - Ken ID Ken de la Bastide: Power on IndyCar hot streak In most forms of racing it is difficult to win three races in a row or four of six events, but that is the accomplishment of Will Power in the Verizon IndyCar series.

    April 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • SPT - HB0331 - speedway e Hacker gets late model win Noblesville teenager Chris Hacker turned in a dominating performance in capturing the season-opening Vores Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman feature at Anderson Speedway.

    March 31, 2014 5 Photos

  • NWS - HB0331 - speedway fans 3 Anderson Speedway kicks off 2104 season With sunny skies and more seasonable temperatures, Anderson Speedway officially opened for the start of the 2014 season on Sunday afternoon.

    March 30, 2014 4 Photos

  • Ken de la Bastide: Speedway kicks off 2014 season Anderson Speedway kicks off the 2014 season this Saturday with a pair of 75-lap features for the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models and the NASH-FM Thunder Cars.

    March 25, 2014

  • Ken de la Bastide: Deal moves IndyCar to next level

    It has been an exceptional few weeks for IndyCar with the biggest news coming last week with the signing of Verizon as the title sponsor.

    March 19, 2014

Herald Bulletin Fantasy Racing League