The Herald Bulletin

Morning Update

Auto Racing

May 27, 2014

Ken de la Bastide: Indy, Little 500s provide great racing

Memorial Day buzz is back

For the fourth consecutive year, the Indianapolis 500 was determined during the final laps of the May classic that is regaining popularity with fans around the world.

Ryan Hunter-Reay and Helio Castroneves battled during a six-lap shootout before a crowd estimated at 230,000. Hunter-Reay made a daring pass, actually using the grass to pass Castroneves, looking for his record-tying fourth Indy 500 victory.

Verizon IndyCar and Indianapolis Motor Speedway officials made the right call by red-flagging the race to repair the safer barrier and clean up debris following Townsend Bell’s accident.

Last year, Tony Kanaan got his first victory by passing Carlos Munoz on a restart followed by an accident in Turn 1 by Dario Franchitti.

In 2012, Franchitti won when Takuma Sato attempted to make an inside pass on the final lap in Turn 1 and crashed.

The finish of the 2011 race was memorable when leader JR Hildenbrand crashed on the final lap in Turn 4 while passing a lapped car, handing the victory to Dan Wheldon.

Although the 2014 race didn’t break the record set in 2013 for lead changes (68), it did produce the second-closest finish in the 98-year history of the race and was the second fastest in terms of the winner’s average speed.

It makes race fans look forward to the 2015 race.

u u u

Jacob Wilson made it two wins in a row in the Pay Less Little 500 at Anderson Speedway before probably the largest crowd in many years.

What was unfortunate was problems beset many of the contenders for the win including Shane Cottle, who for the second year lost an engine in his Contos Racing entry.

Bryan Clauson, Aaron Pierce, Brian Tyler and Chris Windom were all either involved in an accident or suffered mechanical woes.

I was disappointed that only 34 cars attempted to make the starting field for the Little 500 this year, but the quality of the field was excellent and qualifying produced one of the fastest, if not the fastest starting field in the 66-year history of the race.

Text Only
Auto Racing
Latest Racing News