The Herald Bulletin

Morning Update

Auto Racing

August 16, 2013

TruFuel Must See Racing Xtreme Sprints, CRA Street Stocks return to Anderson Speedway

ANDERSON, Ind. — The Winged Sprint Cars will make their final season appearance at Anderson Speedway on Saturday when the TruFuel Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series drivers compete in the BestWay Disposal 50. The Stealth Trailers CRA Street Stocks, Front Wheel Drives Oval and Thunder Roadsters will also be in action.

The TruFuel Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series will race at Anderson Speedway for the second occasion this season. In the first race on May 22, during Pay Less Little 500 Week, starting from the pole position, Jacob Wilson won by 4.67 seconds over Aaron Pierce with Jo Jo Helberg in third position. Troy DeCaire and Brian Olson rounded out the top five.

This will be the eighth MSRXSS event of the season. Drivers that have earned feature victories include Ryan Litt at Five Flags (Fla.) Speedway on March 22; Jo Jo Helberg at Mobile (Ala.) International Speedway on March 24 and Winchester Speedway on May 19, Jacob Wilson at Anderson Speedway on May 22, Aaron Pierce at Auto City (Mich.) Speedway on July 3, Brian Gerster at Kil-Kare (Ohio) Speedway on July 19 and most recently Brian Olson at Salem Speedway on Aug. 10.

In the season standings, Helberg holds a slim 12-point lead over Brian Gerster. Third is two-time champion Troy DeCaire with Aaron Pierce and most recent Anderson winner Jacob Wilson completing the top five.

Helberg has won the previous two August events at Anderson with MSRXSS. Last August, he was chased across the finish line by Wilson and Pierce. The California native also holds the qualifying track record of 10.168 seconds set in May of 2012.

On Saturday night, the CRA Street Stocks will compete in a 75-lap feature. This is the final appearance of the division this year. Feature winners at Anderson include Dustin Burge, Jason Atkinson and Josh Poore, who earned the victory in the 200-lap event in June. Burge sits atop the CRA point standings with J.J. Shaffer in second spot, 18 points behind Burge. The remainder of the top five includes Jimmy Kirby, Calvin Parham and Josh Myers.

Text Only
Auto Racing
  • SPL - PT041014 - Ken de la Bastide column - Ken sig Ken de la Bastide: Hunter-Reay's blunder proves costly A lack of patience cost Ryan Hunter-Reay and teammate James Hinchcliffe a chance at victory last weekend in the Verizon IndyCar Series race at Long Beach.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Poore gets Street Stock victory Anderson’s Josh Poore took advantage of a restart to pass early leader Dustin Burge and capture the Street Stock feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

    April 12, 2014

  • Ken de la Bastide: Chase Elliott making headlines This past weekend at Texas Motor Speedway the two NASCAR races were won by some of the younger drivers in the Nationwide and Sprint Cup series.

    April 8, 2014

  • Shackleford scores WOFS win Jess Shackleford took the lead on a restart with 28 laps remaining and survived four more restarts to win the inaugural Winged Outlaw Figure-8 Series race at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

    April 5, 2014

  • Armstrong looking to move up Shenandoah graduate Dakoda Armstrong has an opportunity this weekend to take a familiar path and move up in the NASCAR Nationwide standings.

    April 4, 2014

  • SPL - PT030514 - Ken de la Bastide column - Ken ID Ken de la Bastide: Power on IndyCar hot streak In most forms of racing it is difficult to win three races in a row or four of six events, but that is the accomplishment of Will Power in the Verizon IndyCar series.

    April 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • SPT - HB0331 - speedway e Hacker gets late model win Noblesville teenager Chris Hacker turned in a dominating performance in capturing the season-opening Vores Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman feature at Anderson Speedway.

    March 31, 2014 5 Photos

  • NWS - HB0331 - speedway fans 3 Anderson Speedway kicks off 2104 season With sunny skies and more seasonable temperatures, Anderson Speedway officially opened for the start of the 2014 season on Sunday afternoon.

    March 30, 2014 4 Photos

  • Ken de la Bastide: Speedway kicks off 2014 season Anderson Speedway kicks off the 2014 season this Saturday with a pair of 75-lap features for the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models and the NASH-FM Thunder Cars.

    March 25, 2014

  • Ken de la Bastide: Deal moves IndyCar to next level

    It has been an exceptional few weeks for IndyCar with the biggest news coming last week with the signing of Verizon as the title sponsor.

    March 19, 2014

Herald Bulletin Fantasy Racing League