The Herald Bulletin

Morning Update

Auto Racing

October 18, 2013

Anderson Speedway to decide 9 champs

ANDERSON – Anderson Speedway returns to action on Saturday with UAW Paint the Night Pink Season Championships.

Featured divisions include USSA Sprint Cars, MEP Late Models, Street Stocks, NASH FM ThunderCars, USSA Mel Kenyon Midgets, Front Wheel Drives Oval, Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s, Legends and Thunder Roadsters.

Aaron Pierce takes a slim 28-point lead over Tony Hunt into the event. Pierce has won at Anderson twice already in 2013, taking the Glen Niebel Classic and 50-lap feature on Sept. 21.

Hunt led the point race going into the September race when a fifth-place finish allowed Piece to slip by into the point lead. Neunschwander jumped to the third position on the strength of a strong performance in qualifying and his strong second-place finish. Neunschwander sits just 75 points off the lead ready to take advantage of any slip by Pierce and Hunt.

In the MEP Late Models, Ronnie Rose holds a 141- point advantage over Ronnie Rose. The remainder of the top five includes Joe Woodring, Chris Hacker and three-time feature winner Jeff Marcum.

Visiting the winner’s circle on Sept. 28 helped Curtis Parham extend his Street Stock points lead to 85 markers. Five top-five performances have placed Tyler Marsh in second spot with Danny Adams ranked in third position. Fourth is Andrew Cook with 2012 champion Jimmy Kirby in fifth.

Seven feature victories and 10 top-10 finishes have placed Curtis Chapman atop the ThunderCar standings. He leads Trent Gossar by 66 markers. The top five is rounded out by Rob Allman, Tom Gossar and Austin Russell.

The season-long points battle between Paul Phipps and Elliott McKinney will be settled in the 25-lap feature for the Front Wheel Drive Oval division. Phipps holds a 49-point advantage in the points tally. Seven-time main event winner Jerry Dane is third with Jesse Thomas and Austin McKinney filling out the top five.

Text Only
Auto Racing
Latest Racing News