The Herald Bulletin

June 18, 2013

Ken de la Bastide: Top Street Stock event this Saturday

The Herald Bulletin

---- — The marquee event for the Champion Racing Association's Street Stock Division will take place Saturday at Anderson Speedway with a 200-lap event.

The annual race has become the top event for the Street Stock division drivers, with the winner taking home $3,000.

The race was started in 2009 as a 300-lap event, with Scott Neal winning the inaugural event. Josh Poore won the event in 2010.

The distance was reduced to 200 laps in 2011, with Jason Thompson recording the victory. Last year Poore won for the second time, leading all 200 laps.

As could be expected with the top race for the division, the racing action in the past has been fast and furious with plenty of fender banging and bumping.

What has been impressive is the low number of cautions during the previous four events, showing the Street Stock division drivers can compete with the best that race on the Anderson Speedway bullring.

Dustin Burge won the first CRA Street Stock event of the year at Anderson Speedway, and Jason Atkinson won the latest appearance on June 8.

Atkinson is no stranger to victory lane at Anderson, having won numerous events in the Sportsman Division.

Poore, who has not competed in the previous two visits of the CRA Street Stocks to Anderson Speedway, is expected to make his first appearance of the year to defend his title.

Other top drivers expected to compete include Burge, Josh Myers, Jacob McElfresh, Calvin Parham, Beau Mitchell, Tyler Marsh, Jim Crabtree Jr., Jeff Lane and Atkinson.

Racing action starts at 8 p.m. with the IOFS SuperCarts and Front Wheel Drive oval division in action.

In other racing news

Anderson Speedway and officials with the Champion Racing Association announced last week that the prize money for two McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models and Top Speed Fabrication Sportsman have been increased.

The purse for the July 6 and July 19 events for the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models has been increased to $1,500 to win and $800 for second place. The 75-lap Thompson Builders race will pay $150 to start.

The Sportsman and McGunegill Engine Performance series will be part of the JEGS/CRA All Star Tour, which will be contesting a 100-lap race. The PPG 75 presented by Norrick Petroleum can be expected to draw a stellar field.

Jack Neal of Motion Motors is posting a $500 bonus for any driver that wins both the Thompson Builders 75 and the PPG 75. The bonus will be in the form of four new tires, including mounting.

Three-time CRA champion Johnny VanDoorn won the Super Series Late Model event at Berlin Raceway last Saturday. He is the only driver eligible for the CRA/JEGS $100,000 Triple Crown bonus. The other two races for the bonus are the Redbud 300 and Winchester 400.