The Herald Bulletin

Evening Update

Sports Columns

February 26, 2014

Ken de la Bastide: Indy 500 champ returning in 2014


While watching the racing action at Daytona this past weekend, it made me think of all the drivers in the NASCAR fields who have raced on the short tracks in Indiana. The list is impressive.

Jimmie Johnson, Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon, Ryan Newman, Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, Josh Wise, Chase Elliott, Mike Wallace, Dakoda Armstrong, Johnny Sauter, Mason Mingus and James Buescher have all raced at local racing venues as they climbed the ladder to NASCAR.

Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s win in the Daytona 500 was a boost for NASCAR after the nearly seven-hour rain delay. The two big crashes in the Daytona 500 were caused by veteran Kevin Harvick and rookie Austin Dillon.

Follow Ken de la Bastide on Twitter @KendelaBastide, or call 640-4863.

Text Only
Sports Columns
AP Video
Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's 49ers Open Posh, High-tech Stadium in California Jeter, Trout Lead AL to All-Star Game Win Kluwe: I Hope Vikings Make Investigation Public College Football Championship Trophy Unveiled Cleveland Expects Economic Boom From Lebron Argentina Fans Sad but Proud in Loss Germany Wins the World Cup 1-0 Raw: German Players Head to World Cup Final LeBron: Move Back to Cleveland 'Exciting' Netherlands Beats Host Brazil 3-0 to Finish 3rd Raw: Stunning Timelapse of WC Final Host City Joy Fills Streets of Cleveland As LeBron Returns FIFA Rejects Suarez Appeal Against Biting Ban World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Argentina to Face Germany in World Cup Final Raw: Fans Gather for Argentina-Netherlands Match Froome Crashes Out on Bumpy 5th Tour Stage
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Should the Pacers match Portland's offer sheet to center Roy Hibbert?

Yes, Hibbert is important to the team and the community
No, four years and $58 million is too much
Not sure, I like Hibbert but think the money could be better spent elsewhere
     View Results