The Herald Bulletin

February 28, 2014

Anderson tournament results are in

By Angie Colip
For the Herald Bulletin
The Herald Bulletin

---- — The Anderson USBC Open Tournament has wrapped up, and the results are in.

The All-Events Actual winner was Levi Voss with a total pin count of 2,113. Second place goes to Jamie Kimm with a 2,074. The All-Events Handicap winner is Wagner shooting 2,209. Ferguson places second with a 2,189.

In the singles actual event Levi Voss places first again with a 721. Blake Buck shoots a 672 for second place.

Mike Lanane was the winner of the singles handicap event rolling a 777. Kyle Mills rolled a 731 to finish second.

The doubles actual category produced Greg Holford and Dwayne Hildreth as the winners with a 1,387 series. Second place finishers Blake Buck and Jamie Kimm shot a 1,359.

Terry Ellis and Allen Wagner finished on top in the doubles handicap event shooting 1,475. Greg Holford and Dwayne Hildreth placed in second place rolling a 1,443.

The Team Actual winners were Pimpin Aint Easy with a 2,608 series. Second place, with a 2,505, was Boyer’s Buddies.

Team Outcast finished in first place with a 2,849. Team Mills came in second by only four pins shooting a 2,845.

The Women’s Local Tournament also ran a 600 Club event during the tournament. The results are as follows. In first place, Melissa McCallister shot a 673 series. Only two pins out of first was second place Tia Buckner rolling a 671. Robins Wellons finishes third with a 626.

That finishes up the local tournaments, but the state tournaments are still to come. The Women’s State kicks off the weekend of March 22 to 23 and runs through the end of April. This year’s tournament will be held locally with Cooper’s Sport Bowl and Cooper’s Stardust in Noblesville being the host sites.

The Men’s State will be hosted by the Muncie bowling centers. The dates run roughly the same as the women. Please check with your local center for more information.

With both tournaments being held so closely to home, distance should not be a factor in lane attendance.

The final tournament of the year for high school bowling is the scholarship tournament at Western Bowl in Indianapolis at 1 p.m. Saturday, March 1.

Individuals for this tournament must be invited to participate. Those being named to a team from the state level is the requirement. These teams were recently announced. The locals who earned the opportunity to bowl at this tournament and to what teams they were named are as follows.

The Indiana High School Bowling All-State Team (boys) representatives are first team, Mason Ward of Alexandria and second team, Nicholas Squires of Pendleton.

The IHSB All Tournament team (girl) is Layna Chapman of Anderson Preparatory Academy and (boys) are Mason Ward and Nicolas Squires.

The All Region Teams also include Ward and Squires. The All Region team for the girls is Emily Young of Alexandria.

Also earning a spot on the Academic All State team is Isaac Collis of Alexandria.

Good luck to all of those participating Saturday!