The Herald Bulletin

August 8, 2013

Lugar to receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

The Associated Press

INDIANAPOLIS — Former Sen. Richard Lugar will be among 16 people that President Barack Obama will honor later this year with the Presidential Medal of Freedom,

The White House on Thursday announced Lugar's inclusion in a class of recipients that also includes former President Bill Clinton, entertainer and philanthropist Oprah Winfrey and former Chicago Cubs first baseman Ernie Banks.

Lugar represented Indiana in the Senate for 36 years. The White House announcement calls him "an internationally respected statesman ... best known for his bipartisan leadership and decades-long commitment to reducing the threat of nuclear weapons." It also notes he was a Rhodes Scholar and mayor of Indianapolis for eight years. He currently serves as president of the Washington-based Lugar Center.