Elwood’s John Robbins saw a big lead wiped out by a caution, but than was able to pull away from Bryan Nuckles and Taylor Webb to score the Legends feature win at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

With the fastest six drivers inverted, Eric Black took the early lead, with Robbins running third at the start. Robbins passed Doug Dugger on the fourth lap by using the low line in Turn 1.

From there, Robbins closed on Black and was able to make the pass exiting Turn 2 after eight laps. Robbins started to pull away from the pack when James Edsall III lost an engine entering Turn 1 on Lap 9.

On the restart, Black slipped in Turn 4 which allowed Nuckles to grab the second spot. Fast qualifier Webb passed Black on Lap 15 to move into third and challenged Nuckles but was unable to make the pass.

At the checkers, Robbins won by .77 seconds over Nuckles, Webb, Kyle Baugh and Black.

“The car came to life after the caution,” Robbins said of his second consecutive win in the division.

Muncie driver Rob Wyman Jr. used slower traffic to his advantage over the final 10 laps of the WMDH Thunder Car feature to hold off Nick Warner for his third win of the year and second in a row.

Wyman set fast time during qualifications and jumped into the lead at the start, but he was pressed by Warner, who appeared to have the faster car. With Warner pushing him down the front and back straights, Wyman was able to maintain the lead by using the lapped traffic as a pick.

Warner finished second, followed by Hannah Lundy, Rod Phipps and Rodney Milliner.

“I dropped a cylinder and did what I had to do,” Wyman said. “Nick (Warner) did what he had to do.”

Kokomo driver Gary Bragg Jr. passed his Mad Cow Racing teammate Frank Gasho using the high line off Turn 4 to go on to record the victory in the Front Wheel Drive Oval Division.

Fast-qualifier Chris Teepe, who broke a front suspension part in a heat race, climbed from the fifth spot to second after 13 laps.

Teepe passed Mike Alley with an inside pass on Lap 3 to move into fourth, then used a similar move three laps later to claim the third spot from Gary Bragg Sr. Teepe passed Gasho on the front straight with seven laps remaining but was unable to challenge the younger Bragg. It was Bragg’s second consecutive win and fourth of the year. Five cars were unable to start the feature because of mechanical problems or incidents in the two heat races.

“The little cars run pretty good,” he said of the Mad Cow Racing team, which took three of the top four positions.

Darrell Brown scored his first ever feature win in the Thunder Roadster Division but had to hold off a charging James Edsall III over the final 10 laps.

Trending Video